Rideshare Accidents

Our South Carolina Car Accident Attorneys Explain Rideshare Accident Liability

As rideshare companies like Uber and Lyft become increasingly popular across South Carolina, the number of rideshare accidents has also increased. Unfortunately, rideshare drivers are employed as independent contractors. This makes these types of car accidents extraordinarily complex because they involve determining whose insurance company is liable for the damages. Will your injuries and expenses be covered under the rideshare company umbrella policy or will the “at fault” driver’s insurance company be responsible? This is an important question to answer because policy limits vary wildly. As such, determining liability is crucial after a rideshare accident.

Rideshare laws and liabilities are complicated and difficult to navigate without the help of an experienced personal injury law firm. At the Law Offices of Wilkerson, Jones & Wilkerson, our attorneys have successfully represented injured South Carolina rideshare accident victims for years. We know that an extensive investigation into rideshare accidents is a crucial component of collecting the evidence needed to establish clear liability.

Ride Share Driver In Car Using The Rideshare App In Mobile Phone

Who is Liable for Rideshare Accidents?

Before being hired by a rideshare company like Lyft or Uber, drivers must have their own automobile insurance policies with at least the minimum insurance coverage as required by South Carolina law. When the driver is not actively engaged in picking up a passenger or transporting a passenger, their own insurance is responsible for any accidents they’re involved in. Once they’ve switched on the app and are actively seeking passengers or driving passengers, they are then covered by the rideshare company’s insurance.

Understanding these varying insurance coverages and liabilities is the key to collecting maximum compensation. After all, there are considerable differences in the amount you can recover depending on whose insurance covers damages after an accident.

  • Driver not in “driving mode”
    • Own insurance policy covers damages
    • May only have South Carolina minimums
      • $25,000 per person bodily injury
      • $50,000 per accident bodily injury
      • $25,000 property damage
  • Driver in “driving mode” but without passenger
    • Up to $50,000 each person bodily injury
    • Up to $100,000 per accident bodily injury
    • Up to $25,000 property damage
  • Driver in “driving mode” and with passenger
    • Rideshare Liability Umbrella policy of $1 million total coverage

While rideshare companies like Uber and Lyft offer substantial coverage for injured accident victims, they do not extend this coverage to their drivers. As such, injured rideshare drivers must turn to their own insurance policies to seek compensation.

What to Do After a Rideshare Accident in South Carolina

If you or a loved one has sustained injuries in a rideshare accident in South Carolina, the steps you take afterwards can have a significant impact on your ability to file a claim.

  • Call 911
  • Seek medical help immediately
  • Document your rideshare details
  • Gather info including rideshare driver’s name, contact information, and driver’s license
  • Gather insurance information for both the driver and the rideshare service
  • Take pictures of the accident scene
  • Gather eyewitness information
  • Call a South Carolina car accident lawyer at the Law Offices of Wilkerson, Jones & Wilkerson immediately

Contact Our South Carolina Rideshare Accident Lawyers Today

Rideshare accidents are on the rise across the country. If you or someone you love has been injured in a rideshare accident, it is best to retain the services of an experienced South Carolina personal injury law firm immediately. Rideshare accidents can result in serious and often fatal injuries and injured accident victims need money quickly to pay for medical expenses, lost wages, and more.

At the Law Offices of Wilkerson, Jones & Wilkerson, we know that rideshare accidents can be extraordinarily complex and as such, they require an experienced car accident attorney with an extensive knowledge of rideshare laws and liabilities.

Call the Law Offices of Wilkerson, Jones & Wilkerson. today at (803) 324-7200 (Rock Hill), (803) 289-7202 (Lancaster), (803) 396-5200 (Fort Mill), (864)466-5170 (Union) or fill out our confidential contact form. With offices conveniently located in Rock Hill, Fort Mill, Union, and Lancaster, we are here when you need us. Let the locals handle it and call us today for a free case evaluation.