Steps to Take After a Car Accident
Immediately following a car accident, the steps you take can have a significant impact on your ability to file a claim and collect the money you need. After your car accident, take the following steps to protect yourself:
- Call 911
- File a Police Report
- Seek Medical Help
- Gather Evidence
- The other driver’s insurance information and driver’s license information
- Other car’s license plate information and description
- Eyewitness contact information
- Photos of the crash scene
- Written account
- Copy of police report
- Call an Attorney
How Do I Get a Car Accident Report in South Carolina?
Car accident reports can be useful evidence when filing a claim or litigating your case. You can get a car accident report in South Carolina from the Department of Motor Vehicles. If you are in Rock Hill, try using the links listed below:
Collecting Damages after a Car Accident
If you’ve been injured in a car accident, South Carolina law allows you three years from the date of the accident to file an injury claim seeking damages. You can seek both economic damages and non-economic damages after an accident. Economic damages include any quantifiable expenses, such as medical bills, lost wages, loss of future earnings and car repairs. Non-economic damages are more difficult to determine because they’re subjective in nature. Examples of non-economic damages include pain and suffering, loss of consortium, and decreased quality of life. In some cases, injured accident victims may even be able to pursue punitive damages against a negligent party.
UM/UIM Claims in South Carolina
In some car accidents, the at-fault driver may lack car insurance. If an underinsured or uninsured driver hits you and causes property damage or injuries, then you may need to file a UM/UIM claim through your insurance provider.
South Carolina law requires insurance providers in our state to offer underinsured motorist coverage. However, you can opt out of this coverage for a lower premium. Make sure you have UM/UIM coverage on your policy, otherwise it could be difficult to recover compensation after a crash with an uninsured or underinsured driver.
Does It Cost Anything to Hire a Car Accident Lawyer?
Car accident lawyers, including us, take cases on a contingency fee basis. This means that you do now owe us certain fees unless we successfully obtain a car accident settlement or jury verdict.
Additionally, many personal injury attorneys offer free consultations, including us. You can contact our Rock Hill car accident lawyers for a free consultation. We will explain your legal rights and possible options after a car accident.
Modified Comparative Negligence in South Carolina
South Carolina law may prevent you from obtaining compensation if you are 51 percent or more responsible for causing a wreck. If you are less than 51 percent at fault, you may be able to still obtain compensation for your damages. Your damages would be reduced based on your percentage of fault.
Speak to a Rock Hill accident attorney at the Law Offices of F. Craig Wilkerson Jr. to learn more about comparative negligence in South Carolina.
Contact Our Rock Hill Car Accident Attorneys Today
If you or someone you love has been injured in a car accident in Rock Hill, Fort Mill, Lancaster, or anywhere in the state of South Carolina, you may be struggling with lifelong injuries, pain, and suffering. When this occurs, you need a Rock Hill car accident lawyer on your side to help you fight for compensation Call us today at (803) 324-7200 (Rock Hill), (803) 289-7202 (Lancaster), (803) 396-5200 (Fort Mill), or fill out our confidential contact form. With offices conveniently located in Rock Hill, Fort Mill and Lancaster, we are here when you need us. Call us today for a free case evaluation.