As a South Carolina driver, you are legally obligated to carry car insurance. When you apply for your initial driver’s license or renew your license, you will need to prove that you have coverage for any vehicles that you own. Since South Carolina uses a standard fault car insurance system, the person responsible for an accident pays the expenses associated with the crash. As a result, drivers should consider having these types of coverage in their insurance policy.
Bodily Injury Liability Insurance
Bodily injury liability insurance covers claims involving accidents that you caused. Under South Carolina law, you must have at least $25,000 of coverage per person and at least $50,000 per accident. Your insurance may pay out a variety of damages under bodily injury liability insurance, including medical expenses, lost income and pain and suffering.
Property Damage Liability Insurance
Any insurance coverage you have in South Carolina must also pay off any property damage that you caused in an accident. Of course, this type of coverage pays for damage to a motor vehicle. However, it also pays for damage to structures like walls, signs, buildings and fences. Your policy must provide at least $25,000 for property damage in each accident.
Uninsured Motorist Insurance
While bodily injury and property damage insurance primarily protects other people in an accident you cause, uninsured motorist insurance benefits you directly. For example, if you are hit by someone without vehicle insurance or you are injured in a hit-and-run accident, then uninsured motorist insurance will protect you. Although uninsured motorist insurance is mandatory, underinsured motorist coverage is not. However, it is still recommended for all drivers in South Carolina.
Going Beyond the Minimum
Note that the amounts listed above are the absolute minimum under South Carolina law. It is typically recommended that you pay for more coverage, as a single serious injury in a crash can easily exceed $25,000. If your insurance does not pay for all the damage you cause in an accident, then you could face wage garnishment or property seizure.
What if an Insurance Company Refuses to Pay?
When you pay your insurance premium each month, you expect the insurance company to do their part by paying out claims promptly and fairly. However, some insurance companies do everything they can to avoid paying out claims, even though this behavior is both unethical and illegal. If an insurance company refuses to pay a valid claim or makes it difficult for you to file a claim, then you may need to contact our South Carolina bad faith insurance lawyers to put pressure on the company.
Questions About Car Insurance Coverage in South Carolina? Our Attorneys Can Help!
If you are injured due to another party’s unsafe driving, then the last thing you need is to get stuck in a tug of war with an insurance company. Reach out to the Law Offices of F. Craig Wilkerson Jr. at (803) 324-7200 to schedule a free consultation with an attorney at our Rock Hill office.